Beware: Paypal spam?
Recently, after having a routine check with my emails, I dropped into my Spam folder and got notice the word Paypal on the subject. I opened it and the message states below.
PayPal
Dear PayPal Customer,As part of our security measures, we regularly screen activity in the PayPal system. During a recent screening, we noticed an issue regarding your account.
Our system detected unusual charges to a credit card linked to your PayPal account.Case ID Number: PP-406-699-749
For your protection, we have limited access to your account until additional security measures can be completed. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.To secure your account and quickly restore full access on your account, we encourage you to log in and perform the steps necessary to restore your account access as soon as possible by clicking the link below:
Please click here to restore your account access
Failure to verify and/or update your personal records, or if you choose to ignore our request, may result in further limitations or eventual account closure.
We thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Please understand that this is a security measure intended to help protect you and your account. account.
We apologize for any inconvenience.Sincerely,
PayPal Account Review DepartmentPlease do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the “Help” link in the header of any page.
To modify your notification preferences, log in to your PayPal account, click the Profile sub-tab, then click the Notifications link under Account Information. Changes may take up to 10 days to be reflected in our mailings. PayPal will not sell or rent any of your personally identifiable information to third parties. For more information about the security of your information, read our Privacy Policy at https://www.paypal.com/privacy.
Copyright © 2008 PayPal Inc. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. PayPal is located at 2211 N. First St., San Jose, CA 95131.
Seems it is from the official website of paypal.. But if you will click on the said link you will be redirected to this site:
http://benfrancis.dsvr.co.uk/webdate/videos/cgi-bin/webscr.php?cmd=_login-run or Click here.
and interestingly, I do not know what will happen if you will enter your valid paypal email address. You can see the screenshot or visit the said link stated above and see it for yourself, it is paypal clone. It is a totally scam!! So beware!